Home > About Us

About Us

Welcome to the 6th Whitley Bay (St Mary’s) Scout Group

We have a Beaver, Cub and Scout section which all meet weekly at the Church Hall on Claremont Gardens, Whitley Bay. Our group is coordinated and led by our Group Scout Leader (GSL) Scott Blackett who is assisted by our Group Executive Committee and Leadership Team.

The Group Executive Committee is responsible for supporting the Group Scout Leader in the running and organisation of the group.

Welcome Pack (Click Here to download)

The Welcome Pack above has been compiled as an introduction for parents containing information about scouting and our beaver, cub and scout sections.

Current members of the committee and leadership teams as elected at the last AGM are as follows:


Group Scout Leader:   Scott Blackett


Beaver Scout Leader: Vacant

Assistant Beaver Scout Leaders: Susanna Buckley, Anthea Livingstone-Polley & Rebecca Mould

Colony Assistant: Vacant

Occasional Helper: Kathryn Lynn

Young Leader: Rebecca Wilde, Rachel Potts, Jonny Elkin, Edward Gardener


Cub Scout Leader: Tony Bennett

Assitant Cub Scout Leader: John Arkley & Andrew Coulson

Pack Assistants: Laura Main, Paul Grange & Imogen Wright

Occasional Helpers: Anne Lewis, Jack Swann & Max Seed

Young Leader: Nathan Burn, Matthew Anderson and Peter Wilson


Scout Leader: Scott Blackett (GSL)

Assistant Scout Leader: Matthew O’Brien

Troop Assistant:

Occasional Helpers: Scott Burn & Sean Boyack

Young Leaders: Connell Pike & Marcus Devlin


Group Chair: Claire Marriott

Group  Treasurer: Julie Stafford

Group Secretary: Ian Lamont

Church Representative: Kate Stobart supported by Anne Dodgson

Group Executive Members: Andy Cooper, Alistair Elliot, Sarah Weddle, Sheridan Doyle

View 6th Whitley Bay (St Mary’s) Scout Group in a larger map